Northampton Town Council

Working with the community to improve
the quality of life in Northampton

New Town Council up and running

From Thursday 1st April Northampton's new Town Council will be fully operational with its new, dedicated team of five staff starting in their roles. All statutory services previously provided by Northampton Borough Council will now be delivered by the new West Northants Council. The Town Council team will be making preparations for the first elected town councillors to take up their roles as the democratic voice of all the town's communities, after elections on 6th May.

The Council is usually based at the historic Guildhall, however to comply with Covid 19 restrictions, the team will be working remotely for the time being. You can contact us between the hours of 9.00 a.m. to 5.00 p.m. Monday to Friday by telephone on 01604 349310or by email at

A New Town Council for Northampton!


Local Government in Northamptonshire is changing next year. All existing boroughs, districts and the county council are being replaced by two new unitary councils: North Northamptonshire and West Northamptonshire which will include the current Borough of Northampton.

This would leave a large area of the Borough, not currently covered by a parish council, without direct representation. The Borough Council, following an extensive public consultation in 2019, has agreed to create a new Town Council as well as a Kingsthorpe Parish Council and a Far Cotton and Delapré Community Council.

What will it do?

The main function of the Town Council will be to give a democratically elected voice to the people of the Northampton on the key issues facing the town. It will also ensure that the town's rich heritage and traditions will be protected and enhanced as well as providing a range of local services.

Who is running the Council?

There will be 25 councillors representing 21 Wards (or electoral areas). A list of Wards can be found here.

The secretariat to the Town Council is being provide by the Northants County Association of Local Councils and the Acting Town Clerk is Richard Walden. See below for their contact details.

During 2020 the Town Council will be recruiting and selecting their own permanent Town Clerk and other staff.

The Town Mayor

During its first year of operation the Town Councillors will elect a Chairman and Deputy Chairman. However, after Northampton Borough Council ceases to exist in April 2021, the Chairman and Deputy Chairman are expected to be styled the Town Mayor and Deputy Town Mayor, so continuing Northampton's proud tradition of centuries with a Mayor as its first citizen.

The Wards

The Town Council is serving only part of the areas previously falling within the area of the Borough Council. The rest of the population is served by 12 parish councils whose contact details can be found here.

A map showing the new wards and surrounding parishes can be found here

A list of wards covered by Northampton Town Council can be found here

Making Northampton a better place
to live in, work in and visit...

Duke Of Edinburgh

10 June 1921 - 09 April 2021

It is with great sadness that we have today learnt of the death of The Duke of Edinburgh, Prince Philip, who supported his country over many decades with the upmost dedication and distinction. He was a much-loved member of our monarchy and will be sorely missed.

On behalf of the people of Northampton, I wish to convey our deepest sympathy and thoughts to Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II and the rest of the Royal Family at this terribly sad time.

Cllr Rufia Ashraf

Town Mayor of Northampton

For those wishing to write condolences, there is an On-line book of condolence at Buckingham Palace please see